Posts filed under venue

Wychmere Beach Club

reviewer's rating ★★★★★

In Short I recommend this venue, 100%!! Wychmere was top notch in terms of attentiveness, customization, professionalism and expertise.

To Elaborate They truly went above and beyond to make sure the day went off without a hitch and the months leading up to the actual day were well planned out with tastings, walk-throughs, personal introductions to all the key team members, we were extremely well taken care of. It's becoming more and more popular so would definitely make sure to book a tour at least 10 months in advance of your intended month/date to make sure you get the weekend you desire. We always wanted an outdoor wedding so were married on the Grand Lawn next to the beach club and then our reception was on the beach deck down below, which is a relatively new site for weddings at Wychmere, but all of their facilities inside and outside are beautiful, it just depends on the vibe you're looking for.

by CG

Wedding Date September, 2017

Click for Link to Site

Posted on January 14, 2018 and filed under venue.

Your rating:

Red Lion Inn

reviewer's rating ★★★★★

In Short It gets a bad rap because of ownership but the wedding coordinators are AWESOME. I had a ton of flexibility with décor, alcohol assortment, food, etc. They know what their doing and the venue is so, so gorgeous. It was especially perfect for a winter wedding, in my opinion.

By SS

Wedding Date December, 2017

Click for Link to site

Posted on December 16, 2017 and filed under venue.

Your rating:

The Ocean House

reviewer's rating ★★★★★

In Short I would definitely recommend it to other brides looking for a beach destination and outdoor wedding, it doesn't get much prettier than Ocean House! 

To Elaborate The Ocean House is absolutely stunning and we were so fortunate to have a gorgeous day that highlighted the beautiful grounds and ocean views. We really wanted our guests to enjoy everything the venue offered from walking down to the beach, to playing croquet on the lawn. The ease of walking across the street to the Chapel and not having to have my guests take a bus to the reception was also important to us.

Wedding Date September, 2015

By JS

Click for link to Site

 Photo Credit Rebecca Arthurs Photography

Photo Credit Rebecca Arthurs Photography

Posted on November 4, 2017 and filed under venue.

Your rating:

The Langham

reviewer's rating ★★★★★

In Short We were super happy with The Langham- we were so glad to have our wedding in such a central Boston location, but at a venue that was a bit more unique then just a ballroom. Our coordinator was super helpful throughout the entire process, the food was delicious and all of our guests had amazing things to say about their stay. What more could you ask for?

BY J.D.

Wedding Date September, 2014

Click for Link to Site

Posted on March 12, 2017 and filed under venue.

Your rating:

High West Distillery

reviewer's rating ★★★★★

In Short We were blown away by it - it was absolute perfection and so our style.  Rustic, modern, and in a gorgeous mountain setting.  And we loved that we got married at a whiskey distillery and a place so special to Park City, where we live. 

To Elaborate High West handled all of the food and the menu was incredible.  So many guests told me it was the best wedding food/menu they had ever tasted, with items like pork belly passed apps and a selection of whiskey cocktails.  

Wedding Date September, 2016

BY Ashley C.

Click for Link to Site

Posted on December 1, 2016 and filed under venue.

Your rating:

Ritz-Carlton Bachelor Gulch

reviewer's rating ★★★★★

In Short Absolutely amazing. A dream wedding location with five-star service and the most memorable ambiance.

To Elaborate We were having a large destination wedding in Beaver, Creek and there are only so many venues that could accommodate over 200 guests. One of my first dates and earliest, favorite memories with my husband was when we were first dating - he invited me to ski with his friends over the New Year in Colorado and we took a break for burgers and bloody marys at this hotel - it blew me away from the first moment I saw it. It looks like a gorgeous, fancy, rustic log cabin and is located directly in front of the chair lift. There is nothing stuffy about it - everyone is there to have a great time.

One of the stresses of a destination wedding is making sure your guests are happy with their trip overall, but this hotel is so amazing I didn't worry too much! We got married the second to last weekend of ski season so The Ritz was able to give us such an incredible room block rate that 80% of our guests were able to stay in the same place which made our wedding so much more fun. Non-skiers loved doing the spa, the outdoor fire pits have live music and an amazing mountain atmosphere, and skiers have it made - they have ski-in, ski-out access. It made me feel so proud to host everyone in Beaver Creek knowing they would be so well taken care of and entertained at this property.

Jennifer Pomerantz was our point of contact and she was extremely attentive, and genuinely wanted to make us happy. We threw a good amount of specific questions and special requests her way and there was nothing she didn't try to accommodate.

We didn't love the choices for our menu tasting so we asked if they would do a menu from their new, enormous outdoor smoker and they did: Smoked Chicken and Pork. It was still fairly elegant and SO delicious. 

The only cons are the ballroom is a ballroom... I didn't like their round tables and chairs, and we had to spend a lot on rental furniture, decor and uplighting to get it to a place where we felt like it was "ours." But with the right investment and choices, the room looks absolutely gorgeous. We also hosted an outdoor lunch on Sunday and were surprised by the bill - they counted more guests than I thought could have possibly attended, which left a little bit of a negative feeling, so be very clear about your budget for every single component of your wedding. I was so exhausted by Sunday and so happy with everything that I didn't have the energy to question it too much.

Overall, this wedding venue is a dream and we were beyond thrilled!

Wedding Date April, 2016

By Alexandra S.

Click for link to site

 

 

 

Posted on October 30, 2016 and filed under venue.

Your rating:

The Boston Harbor Hotel

reviewer's rating ★★★★★

In Short We got married at The Wharf Room at The Boston Harbor Hotel. I would absolutely recommend it; it's an extremely unique place and I am thrilled we were able to host our wedding there.  

To Elaborate Our goal was to have a city wedding that was also on the water. We had an idea of what we wanted in a venue for our wedding day and our expeditions were truly exceeded. The hotel has the motto “Beyond Compare” and it couldn’t be more accurate. They have an unbelievable campaign called “Say #IDOINCHOO” for their Friday and Sunday brides. Lucky for me I was a Sunday of Labor Day bride so I was treated to an exclusive consultation at the Jimmy Choo Boutique in Copley and was able to pick out my complimentary pair of Jimmy Choo shoes. It was such an added bonus and a fun experience. So much goes into planning and picking out every detail so having a moment to focus on just shoes and get treated to them was exactly what every bride deserves. I was too nervous to break them in before the big day so I tracked down a second pair of Jimmy Choo peep toe flats to change into. The campaign created a loyal customer in me!

Wedding Date September, 2016

By Jessica M.

Click for link to site

Posted on October 30, 2016 and filed under venue.

Your rating:

Barndiva

reviewer's rating ★★★★★

In short We loved working with Fatima there and everyone was super helpful and friendly. There is a lot that can be done with the space. It's rustic and has an indoor and outdoor space.

To eleborate We live in the Bay Area and Healdsburg is a town that means a lot to us. We knew that our friends would love it too! We had gone to Healdsburg, to look at different options for our wedding venue and we were having a drink at Barndiva (which wasn't on our list) and we both kind of had this moment where we realized that we wanted to have it there. The great thing about Barndiva is that they have the best food, and the food and drinks are part of the package there. We had a short engagement (6 months), so the fact that all of that was handled by Barndiva really helped the planning process.

Wedding Date May 2016

By Sara S.

Click for link to site

 Photo Courtesy of Barndiva

Photo Courtesy of Barndiva

Posted on October 22, 2016 and filed under venue.

Your rating:

Beach House Turks & Caicos

reviewer's rating ★★★★★

IN short Our wedding at Beach House was the most perfect, spectacular weekend. The entire resort was filled with our guests for three nights, and we hosted the rehearsal dinner and wedding there. The rehearsal dinner was a beach BBQ on the beach deck, followed by a bonfire on the beach (complete with lounge chairs and personalized coconuts by JJ). The ceremony was on the beach, followed by cocktails on the beach deck, and then the reception at the restaurant, Kitchen 218. Every event was flawless, thanks to the incredible setting and venue, the delicious food, but most of all due to the amazing staff of the resort.

to elaborate We were first attracted to Beach House due to its boutique size and the ability to take over the entire resort with our guests. What we discovered on our first visit there was that the rooms were very large, the food was excellent, and the beach in front of the hotel was wide, beautiful and not quite as busy as the beach closer to town. We only visited the island and Beach House once prior to the wedding, but the staff at Beach House and our wonderful wedding planner (Luise Bayley at NILA Destinations) were incredibly helpful, organized, responsive, and made the wedding planning process easy even from a remote location.

As I mentioned, one of the best parts about Beach House is the staff. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like family. We received hugs from Hendrika at the front desk, were treated to welcome rum punches at the bar (best on the island, in our opinion), and had an "all hands on deck" meeting with the head of every department at the hotel (Vianel the general manger, Alex the head of food and beverage, Shauna with event planning, Hendrika at the front desk, etc). We went over every detail of the wedding weekend, but the real message was "We are here for you and want to do whatever we can to ensure everything is perfect for your wedding." The staff genuinely cared about making our event special and perfect for us, and it was apparent in how they conducted themselves the entire weekend. Every single member of the Beach House staff was warm, wonderful, and was there to help or provide another rum punch whenever necessary.

Another area where Beach House excelled was small details. Every event was seamless - even when we had to push back the rehearsal dinner by 30 minutes; or when we added late night snacks to the menu the day of the wedding; or when we had last minute cancellations and had to move some rooms around. Other small things like chocolates and champagne upon arrival, our wine glasses during the wedding being replaced with newly chilled glasses, and personalized bathrobes on the night of the wedding truly raised the service we received above expectations. The size of the resort really made a difference here - not only was the service excellent, but the staff really got to know us. As I said, we felt like family.

A few other high points to mention - the food at the wedding (for 85!) was delicious and elegant - some of the best wedding food we've ever had. The resort rooms and grounds are spacious, with multiple areas to relax and hang out, so it never feels crowded. There are lots of beach toys to enjoy, and Sherman is eager to help you snorkel, paddle board, sail, or just relax in your "beach pod." Another nice touch was a "bride and groom" sign at our beach chairs the morning after the wedding.

We have only positive things to say about our experience and stay at Beach House, and we decided before we even left that we we will be coming back to Beach House to celebrate our one year anniversary! Thank you to the entire staff for giving us the perfect wedding weekend.

Wedding Date April 16, 2016

Click for Link to site

For other couples planning a wedding in Turks and Caicos, here are the vendors we used - and I would recommend all of them!

Wedding planner - Luise Bayley at NILA Destinations
Casual welcome dinner - Somewhere Cafe
Overflow gusts accommodations - Windsong
Pastor - Pastor Padmore
Photography - Andy Mann at Brilliant Photography
Personalized coconuts - JJ
Live guitarist - Kaz Hall
Ceremony music - saxophone by Jervon
Steel pan music - Keno
DJ - DJ Dayo
Cake - Diane Guess
Flowers - Environmental Arts
Hair - Brigitte at Tangled Hair Salon
Makeup - Ann Wildt at Beauty and the Beach
Large catamaran - Beaches

 

 A photo from our wedding reception

A photo from our wedding reception

 A photo from our rehearsal dinner

A photo from our rehearsal dinner

Posted on May 16, 2016 and filed under venue.

Your rating:

Wequasset Resort & Golf Club

reviewer's rating ★★★★★

In Short They definitely deserve the 5 stars they earned this winter from Forbes Travel.

To Elaborate They have this wedding thing down to a science at this point so they know exactly what they're doing. Kalson (on site wedding coordinator) is so organized and the entire staff is incredibly welcoming and totally at your service.

Wedding Date December, 2015

Link to Site

Posted on May 5, 2016 and filed under venue.

Your rating:

Winslow Estate

reviewer's rating ★★★★★

In short I couldn't have been happier with it, and everyone is still talking about it 8 months later. My sister-in-law got married there three years before us, and we fell in love with it-- it's now such a special place for our family.

To elaborate They only do weddings in the shoulder season, and you have to rent the entire house for a week (so you're present for tent set-up etc in the days leading up the wedding), but that made it all the more fun-- our family and entire bridal party stayed there, and we had my bachelorette there a few days before.

Wedding Date May, 2015

By Emily

click for link to site

 

 

Posted on March 18, 2016 and filed under venue.

Your rating:

The Sebastian Vail

reviewer's rating ★★★★★

In Short We loved it!! They let us have pretty much free rein of the hotel and they have one of biggest ballrooms in Vail Village. We needed a large space to accommodate our party. We didn't want it to feel like we were in a basement ballroom however, and the ceilings of the space are much higher than the other two spaces in Vail that could have fit us.

To Elaborate We worked with Kevin O'Rourke the catering and sales director and he really makes every bride feel like his only bride.  I still talk to him all the time and he answers the phone "hello sunshine."

Wedding Date September, 2014

Wedding Location Vail, Colorado

Click for link to site

 

 

Posted on March 1, 2016 and filed under venue.

Your rating:

Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor

reviewer's rating ★★★★★

In short A great venue for a big city wedding

To elaborateWe had a 275-person wedding and there were very few venues in Boston that could accommodate that. We looked at dozens of venues and the Hyatt was a perfect fit for not being astronomically pricey while still offering beautiful views of the waterfront and city. I'm a tough critic with food and their food was amazing. Guests came up to tell us how good their meal was. I can't say enough good things about this venue.

Wedding Date October, 2014

Click for Link to Website

Posted on December 18, 2015 and filed under venue.

Your rating:

The Barn at Flanagan Farm

reviewer's rating ★★★★★

in shortThe moment we saw The Barn at Flanagan Farm in person, my husband and I both completely fell for it.  The pictures online are beautiful, but the space in person is beyond amazing. 

to elaborateThe 19th century barn is an incredible event space with an attached farmhouse that is straight out of a magazine.  We stayed there Wednesday to Sunday with 12 of our closest friends and family.  My husband and I stayed in the grooms’ cottage – a fruit stand turned bachelor pad and fun place for the guys to get ready – which gave us privacy as it sits just outside of the farmhouse.  We had our ceremony at the sanctuary which is a gorgeous space nestled in the trees a few hundred feet from the barn and farmhouse.  Separate wood walkways lead in from the parking lot and the barn area, which made for a fun entrance both for the wedding party and guests.  We had a beautiful Sperry tent positioned just outside of the barn so people could enjoy their food outside, food trucks, and lawn games spread around the gorgeous acreage outside of the barn.  This place is truly incredible and I would recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone looking for a unique, natural, welcoming space for an event.

Wedding date June, 2014

by Kaitlyn M.

click for link to site

 Photo Courtesy of Darling Photography

Photo Courtesy of Darling Photography

Posted on October 27, 2015 and filed under venue.

Your rating:

Canaves Oia Suites

reviewer's rating ★★★★★

In ShoRTFantastic! Canaves Oia Suites was the perfect wedding venue and honeymoon destination.

To Elaborate We had a phenomenal experience. Our wedding coordinator, Thanassis, was incredibly helpful. We are based in California so we worked together over email for about a year, and then he helped us add the finishing touches upon our arrival. Thanassis was easy to work with, he helped us stay within our budget, and he was flexible with our various requests. We stayed in one of the honeymoon suites, we got married on a balcony overlooking the Aegean, and we hosted an intimate dinner for 18. It was a perfect day!

Wedding Date July, 2015

by Alison G.

Click for link to site

Posted on September 10, 2015 and filed under venue.

Your rating:

Blithewold Mansion, Garden & Arboretum

reviewer's rating ★★★★★

 Photo Credit: Blithewold Mansion, Garden & Arboretum

Photo Credit: Blithewold Mansion, Garden & Arboretum

In Short Wonderful. The gardens were literally breathtaking. In early May, the trees are flowering and daffodils are out. The ocean is right there beyond the sloping lawn. The wedding coordinator at Blithewold is amazing to work with - you don't have to worry about anything.

To Elaborate Blithewold is an amazing place to have your wedding - honestly, I cannot recommend this locale enough. You definitely won't be disappointed. We had guests enter the main door of the mansion where they were treated to a view of the ocean right away. On a nice day, the cocktail hour can flow from indoors to the grand, back porch of the mansion.While cocktail hour is in full swing, the numerous gardens offer plenty of stunning photo ops! After the cocktail hour, guests make their way to the tent for the dancing & dinner! There is a permanent floor beneath the tent which is a huge plus. Also, Blithewold has brand new restrooms & a changing room for the wedding party right outside the tent - they are really beautiful facilities. It's a magical venue! Definitely five stars!

Wedding Date May, 2015

Click for link to site

Posted on August 11, 2015 and filed under venue.

Your rating:

Atlantica

reviewer's rating ★★★★★

 Photo Credit Matt Stone Photography

Photo Credit Matt Stone Photography

In Short, This Vendor Was: A hidden gem on the South Shore, offering the quintessential New England wedding experience!

To Elaborate: If you are looking for the "Cape feel" a little closer to Boston, Atlantica is the perfect option. The venue boasts panoramic views of Cohasset Harbor and an EXCELLENT menu. While this venue is also a full service restaurant, there is a separate kitchen and chef solely devoted to your event. Atlantica employs a full-time wedding planner and she is an absolute delight to work with. The quality of the food does not waver, even when served in large quantities. It remains cooked to perfection. The owners of Atlantica also own the Cohasset Harbor Inn, so you can easily secure a block of rooms for your guests. Guests can easily make the short walk home at the end of the night. Finally, there is a beautiful dock extending off of Atlantica. The picturesque scenery is the perfect backdrop for pictures. Not having to travel to another site for pictures allowed us to make it to our own cocktail hour!

Wedding Date: June 20, 2014

Click for link to website

 

Posted on July 23, 2015 and filed under venue.

Your rating:

Hotel Cipriani

reviewer's rating ★★★★★

In Short, This Vendor WasPerfect in every way...this hotel made my planning fun

To Elaborate: Italian is helpful but not necessary. They will accommodate your every need and desire. Definitely for a long term planning though. The Italians do not like to rush!

Wedding Date: June 2014

Wedding Location: Venice, Italy

CLick FOR LINK TO SITE

 

Posted on July 5, 2015 and filed under venue.

Your rating:

Nantucket Yacht Club

reviewer's rating ★★★★★

 Courtesy of Zofia & Co; Nantucket Yacht Club

Courtesy of Zofia & Co; Nantucket Yacht Club

In Short The Nantucket Yacht Club is a fantastic venue for a larger wedding on Nantucket. The outdoor/indoor layout is optimal for a nice happy hour watching the sunset followed by a fancy dinner & dancing. By providing the food, tables, china, and wait-staff, they are a logistical dream!

To Elaborate Located right in town, we did not need to provide transportation. Their onsite wedding coordinator eliminated our need for a wedding planner. Many of our vendors were very familiar with the site, which alleviated any anxiety there.

Wedding Date May 2014

Click for Link to Site

Posted on June 11, 2015 and filed under venue.

Your rating: